I've put some thought into what I want to take. Overall, I plan to be pretty minimalistic.
    • day pack - 40L - I can fit everything I take in here!
    • rain shell (good to have as an outer layer in frigid situations)
    • compressable puff jacket (great on its own and acts like a winter coat with the shell over it)
    • quarter zip long sleeve (thin, athletic, durable, etc. - it's a favorite of mine)
    • button up shirt (SPF 50)
    • 2-3 t-shirts (for backpacking trips, I only take 2, but I might want an extra for not being nasty when we go into towns or whatever. I'll also likely buy a shirt or two somewhere along the way)
    • travel pants - convertible to shorts
    • (maybe) athletic pants and/or shorts
    • swimsuit (mine wear like a good pair of shorts with decent stretch, pockets, current style, and they dry really fast)
    • 6-8 pairs of socks / underwear
    • sneakers - even if we hike, this is all I use. I stopped using boots for backpacking several years ago!
    • stuff sack (especially great for dirty laundry)
    • toiletry kit (with basic first aid, sunscreen, and ibuprofen)
    • (maybe) hat with brim
    • (maybe) winter hat and gloves
    • camera
    • tripod
    • camera extras - batteries, charger, memory cards, filters, remote shutter release, alan key for tripod, headlamp, notebook, etc.
    • iPad
    • chargers, and cables
    • kindle
    • journal, pen
    • IEM headphones
    • phone (even though it’ll be off the whole time I’m out of country, I’ll still need it for coordinating travel to and from the airport; and it’ll function as my backup camera)
    • sunglasses
    • water bottle
    • thermal camping mug with lid
    • day pack - 18L - super light weight and good for keeping under the seat on the plane. A great thing about this is that it can flip inside out and act as a stuff sack.
    • wallet
    • passport
Things I wonder about that we decided to take:
    • sleeping bag
    • sleeping mat
    • snacks and Via instant coffee packets

Things I wonder about that we decided to leave behind
    • tent (I have a 3-4 man backpacking tent that fits me and my boys well)
    • water filter (although it sounds like everywhere we’re going has a pump with safe drinking water)
    • tie-line
    • backpacking pack
I lean toward the first list unless we need to plan to sleep outside...