I was sitting in the LD seat the other night. While I was operating that night, I was formulating a different blog post in my mind. The past few times I've designed/operated, I've been experimenting with challenging myself to not program a single cue. Instead I set up my profiles well so I can operate where I create each look entirely live… I'll blog further about this at some point, I'm sure. However, the response I received after the night about some of the moments caused me to compose the following:

First, for this set, I went with one of my old favorites - a 60' wide black scrim. It's pretty beat up, but I've learned that if it hangs with texture (5 tie-lines from the grid pulling up bunches of the fabric and letting the rest droop between) it can look pretty good. I went to my go-to bag-of-tricks for the purpose of letting my challenge of operating be my a touch easier:
  • Abstract line gobos strafing across the back traveler from SL and across the scrim from SR - used independently at some moments and together for others.
  • Also for moments of mood setting texture, some gothic window gobos on the back traveler
  • Saturation from LEDbricks lighting the scrim from the US side
  • Also for saturation: 5 of our LED movers placed at the base of each bunch, used at points to sconce the scrim bunches, and others to BL band or shine through haze at times with subtle movement to match the build of a song.
  • Our profile movers were hanging from T-pipes. Most of the night I put the frost-diffusion filter on them and used them as saturation backlight for the band. The final song, I had them switch to a gobo on the build and fan out through haze.
Additional layers light with our Rep Plot:
  • Saturated side-light on the band with LEDs.
  • Gobos back-lighting the band with additional bonus of the look through haze.
  • Our old 250s still living out the end of their life hanging from our apron grid gave me some additional builds with saturation, texture, and movement through haze
Because I was running all my looks live, I didn't really have the opportunity to snap good photos. Here are phone pics: First, the band reprising the walk-out (which except for taking out front-light is really the same look as the end of the final song). Also, a shot of the teaching look.