"The key to good decision making is not knowledge. It is understanding. We are swimming in the former. We are desperately lacking in the latter."
-Malcolm Gladwell

Understand what variables need to be solved in the equation. Ignore all the rest and simply make the snap decision. Ideally the decision would be one that comes intuitively - likely because of time invested in similar situations - where the necessary variables have already been solved on a subconscious level.

Regardless, I'm really working on this thought. May I not fall prey to my OCD nature of trying to have every path of the maze accounted for. Instead, I want to trust my natural talents and the investment of life experiences that I've built up.

I know I do this well in a live production environment. I almost always seem to make the right call - either during set-up of a stage or mid-show leading the team through a last minute audible that.

I hope I can continue to get better about this in the rest of my life.